The Birthday Cake

20140708_202021 20140708_202448 20140709_074216

For this cake I used a cupcake recipe that I have and just doubled the ingredients. It came out super moist and delicious!! I am definitely making this again 🙂

For the cake:
1 1/2 C. self raising flour
1 1/4 C. flour
1 C. unsalted butter
2 C. sugar
4 large eggs
1 C. whole milk
1 tsp. vanilla

Sift the dry ingredients in one bowl. Then in another bowl mix sugar and butter. Slowly add in eggs, milk, and vanilla. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture last and the key is not to overbeat. I lined a 9′ pan with parchment paper and baked for 30 minutes at 180 d/C oven.

For the icing:
1 cup unsalted butter
1 box confectioner’s sugar
2 – 3 tbs. milk
1 tsp. vanilla

The best birthday cake I’ve made so far 🙂 After I let the cake cool completely I used this new ‘thing’ I bought from Cook Shop that cuts cakes in half perfectly and spread the icing in the middle, put the other half on top and finished off with the rest of icing all over the cake. I lined with about 12 Kitkats and 2 bags of M&Ms and it was good to go! The kiddos loved it!!

Leave a Reply

