It’s been a good couple of weeks.

I’ve mentioned before that when the little guy is out of sorts and into his zone that sends me into a depressing downward spiral and everywhere I look I see negativity, in everything. Everything is bleak, dark and ugly. But when he’s good, he’s good. And when my little man wakes up smiling I know he’ll have a great day, which means we ALL will have a great day. It’s been like this, waking up smiling, cooperative, not too too loud, eating by himself, the past couple of weeks. Inside I know something will happen and we’ll have our off days again but at the same time it just feels different this time. Like he’s maturing somehow. He’ll be 5 soon so maybe, just maybe, his brain is somehow refiling everything in the correct place and order. I know I may sound dumb right now to someone reading this who may know more about autism than I do but is it possible that my boy could be progressing and by progressing I mean actually on the verge of a major breakthrough?? Yesterday during OT he said these words: water, Miss, and look. Now he may’ve said them a bit ‘weird’ but he said them. Plus his toilet training success is beyond what we’ve expected. He doesn’t even tell me sometimes, just goes by himself, sits on the toilet seat and everything. I’ve found that the key to that success is of course rewarding him big time!! Let him do/eat/lick whatever the heck he wants as long as he poops in the toilet all is well with the world!! Some of you may remember the poop smearing days and how absolutely devastating that was for me. So this milestone, this achievement that my boy has almost mastered, this is huge!! 🙂

2 responses to “It’s been a good couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

