What’s a girl like me doing in a place like this?

Well, had my third interview so far this month.  All three have been for a range of positions from cashier, and now yesterday, as a Personal Assistant to the CEO of a medical group.  The guy, he’s a well-renowned doctor, seemed nice enough.  Studied in Boston which I guess would be a plus for me being that I grew up there.  Had it not been for the three+ hour assessment I would be more certain that I got the position.  That and of the fact that the other girl vying for the job completed the assignments in under 2 hours!! She was definitely from some secretarial school, fresh from graduation, I could tell. As I left his office I wished her good luck and I truly meant it.  I don’t think I deserve the job just because I have kids and tons and tons of expenses due to Panayioti’s therapies.  I truly think young kids fresh on the job market should get a break. It’s so tough right now here in Greece and competition is so stiff.  It’s sad really, I’m almost embarassed to admit it, but we’re struggling.  Last week I did something I never thought I would do.  I actually took my pennies down to the super market for cash.  Maybe in the States this would be nothing of significance really, but here in Greece it signifies poverty.  So here I am with Beba handing over our pennies and got a whole 15 euros back!!! Which was gone just as quickly as the girl at the counter counted them up. We gotta eat right? So the assignments the kind doctor instructed us to complete were simple enough.  As simple as translating from Greek into English an article on adrenal gland cancer! Yikes!! I was like “what the hell”?? Then came the other translation which I just summed up in my own words really cause there was no freaking point. Thyroid Nodules in Secondary Hyperparathyroidism.  Right. I really hope that that was just a trick question.  I did my best.  I honestly think I did as good as anyone would’ve done given the fact that the last time I actually worked as a secretary I was 21 going on 22 (12 years ago!!)And that I am not a medical translation expert.  I’m sure there are people out there that are experts on the topic.  I’m just not one of them. Sometimes I feel like Will Smith in Road to Happyness.  Ok, we’re not homeless and I’m not a single parent.  But I’m sacrificing a lot just to get one job.  For example, the cab fare to get to the interview yesterday. I honestly did not have the 5 euros it cost me to get there to spare.  But I was running late so I had to take a cab. I’m hoping things will turn around soon.  My sister here in Greece is actually in a worse predicament than I am.  Well, not really but she is out of a job too ’cause she’s a public school teacher and they haven’t summoned her for work yet and they may not at all this year. I told my husband that if I got this job I would share a portion of my monthly pay with her.  She would do the same for me I hope. So here we are, two sisters, degrees, studies, in our prime, and out of work.  The story of Greece at the moment I’m afraid.

2 responses to “What’s a girl like me doing in a place like this?

Leave a Reply

